I dreamt that my heart was broken

I dreamt that my heart petrified
as I spied the End of Days 
through a telescope
backwards,
all light sucked down 
satan's sinkhole,
as a smoking sun
poured
ash and ember
and an ink stain sea 
swallowed 
everything.
I dreamt that my heart was torn
into two bloody ragged bits of meat
and you took one
away with you,
dripping like so much steak.
I dreamt that my heart ruptured
watching a world
eating itself inside out,
an ulcerous distended 
underbelly
gnawing at the
cavitied membrane
of civilisation.
I dreamt my glass heart splintered
at the song of the nightingale
so sweet the silver quiver of notes
within that crystal chamber,
as to shatter all sorrow forever.

I dreamt that my heart was broken
and it was.
Leave a Reply

